connection, the years 1936 and 1937 brought an unusual number of inquiries for service and it is apparent that succeeding years will see the hydro network growing very rapidly.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S., 1930, c. 30), authorizing the Commission to manufacture, sell, and supply electric energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct steam and oil plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power, and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of energy. The Commission is also given certain control and regulatory powers re the operation of electrical public utilities, and is charged with the responsibility for the administration of the Electrical Inspection and Licensing Act, 1935 (1934-35, c. 64).

The initial operations of the Commission were concerned with acquiring by purchase municipally-owned plants which were improved, enlarged, or supplemented by installations made by the Commission and were operated as individual systems of supply. Examples of such acquisitions made in 1929 were the Saskatoon, Humboldt, and Rosthern plants, while the plant at Shellbrook, the Wynyard-Elfros-Wadena and the Leader-Prelate-Sceptre systems, served from plants at Wynyard and Leader, were established by the Commission in the same year. In 1930 the municipal plants at North Battleford, Swift Current, Unity, and Lanigan and the privately-owned plant of the Maple Creek Light, Power & Milling Co. at Maple Creek were acquired, and in 1931 the generating plant at Willowbunch was added. The Watrous-Nokomis system, including ten towns and villages, was also purchased from Canadian Utilities, Ltd., and has been connected with the Bulyea system of the Montreal Engineering Co., Ltd.

Transmission lines run from Saskatoon, as the centre of the main system, easterly to Humboldt, northerly to Shellbrook and Duck Lake, westerly to Radisson, and southwesterly to Rosetown. Additional lines link Rosetown with Moose Jaw, and Tisdale (where the Commission has a generating plant) with Nipawin. The systems built in 1929 have been extended. All transmission lines supply towns and villages along their courses. By a line built in 1935, service is given to the town of Battleford from the North Battleford plant. There are now 1,364 miles of transmission lines owned and operated.

The Commission purchases several blocks of power or contracts for the interchange of power from private interests in addition to supplying energy generated at its own plants. The number of consumers served directly in 123 towns and villages is approximately 8,506 and those indirectly served (where the cities operate the distribution systems) number 16,796. The total plant investment as at Dec. 31, 1936, was approximately \$7,711,120.

British Columbia.—British Columbia as a province has not, up to the present time, established any commissions for the development and use of water power for the distribution of electric energy. Such power developments as have been undertaken to date have been by private interests or by municipalities. The Water Board, a quasi-judicial body, regulates the rates which are charged by public utility companies.